
How small businesses can

Raise Capital
by issuing securities

LEARN MORE 
ABOUT...

		         • Sale of Securities

		     • Registration

	           • Exemption from Registration

                 • Pennsylvania Exemptions

             • Federal Exemptions

Contact our Office of Corporation Finance: 717.787.8059 
Call 1.800.PA.BANKS for questions about financial transactions or  
products or to file a complaint.  Email us at informed@pa.gov

If you need more information on how small businesses 
can raise capital in Pennsylvania, contact us: 

The PA Department of Banking and Securities is Pennsylvania’s financial 
services regulator. We oversee state-chartered banks, credit unions,  
consumer lenders, investment professionals, and other financial services 
firms. We provide free and confidential help to anyone with a question  
or complaint about financial services, transactions, or products.
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Sale of Securities 
All securities offered for sale in Pennsylvania must either be registered or granted 
exemptions. Prior to offering securities for sale in Pennsylvania, you can contact 
the Corporation Finance Office at the Department of Banking and Securities at 
717.787.8059. You should also seek legal counsel from an attorney experienced 
in this area. 

			   	 Whether you want to start a business or  
				      expand your business, there are several  
	 	 	 	     options to find the money to achieve your 	 	
	 	 	 	        goals, including raising money by selling 	
				              shares of your business to investors 		
	 	 	 	 	 through the offering of securities.

Registration 
Registration is the process by which a business files with the  
Department of Banking and Securities all documents that will  
help investors make informed decisions about the proposed  
securities offering.  Under the Pennsylvania Securities Act of 1972,  
all securities sold in Pennsylvania must be registered with the Department of 
Banking and Securities -- unless exempt. The department’s Corporation Finance 
Office and Chief Accountant’s Office will conduct a review of the offering prior to 
its sale. 

Exemption from Registration 
Because the registration process can be complex, Pennsylvania law contains a 
series of exemptions, which cover situations where the nature of the securities or 
the character of the transaction does not demand full registration.  

Pennsylvania companies may sell securities to no more than two Pennsylvania 
investors in a 12-month period without registration or filing with the department. 
Companies relying on this exemption must not have any officer, director, or  
promoter with a history of securities law violations. Those companies not located 
or organized in Pennsylvania may rely on this exemption if they are selling to no    
more than two “accredited investors” in Pennsylvania.

Companies may sell unlimited amounts of securities to “principals,” which  
includes officers and directors, controlling shareholders, key management  
personnel, and the immediate families of principals.

Companies with existing equity stockholders may offer those stockholders the 
opportunity to purchase more shares. The offer must be given on a pro-rata  
basis. For example: a 10 percent shareholder should be offered the opportunity 
to purchase 10 percent of the total number of new shares to be sold.

Limited offering exemption: a company may offer securities to no more than 50 
persons and may sell securities to no more than 25 persons in Pennsylvania. 
This exemption requires an issuer, prior to offering any securities, to file the  
Pennsylvania Form E and all disclosure materials that are to be provided to  
prospective investors, and have the exemption granted by the department.  
The disclosure materials should be prepared using the department’s Prospectus 
Guidelines available on dobs.pa.gov.

Federal Exemptions 
Rule 506(b) of SEC Regulation D provides an exemption from federal and state 
registration for sales of unlimited amounts of securities to “accredited investors” 
and no more than 35 non-accredited, but sophisticated investors (investors with 
substantial experience investing in securities offerings). 

Rule 506(c) allows for sales to only “accredited investors.”  By limiting sales to 
“accredited investors,” the issuer can utilize general solicitation to promote the 
offering.

To use a Rule 506 exemption, the company is required to file SEC Form D with 
the federal Securities and Exchange Commission within 15 days of the first sale 
to any purchaser. The company is also required to file the SEC Form D with the 
department within 15 days of the first sale in Pennsylvania.

Crowdfunding 
Crowdfunding is a new way investors can buy ownership interests in businesses 
over the internet. Under federal law, businesses can raise up to $1 million in a 
12-month period from individual investors. An individual’s maximum investment 
by law is determined by their net worth and income level, but no investor may 
invest more than $100,000 over a 12-month period through crowdfunding. 

Accredited Investor 
An accredited investor is an individual that has a net worth of at least $1 million or 
annual income of $200,000, excluding one’s primary residence. 

Worth Knowing...

Pennsylvania Exemptions 
There are several exemptions from registration for which issuers may qualify.  
Listed below are brief summaries of the most relied-upon exemptions.  Complete 
details of Pennsylvania’s exemptions, including qualification criteria, can be found 
in the Pennsylvania Securities Act of 1972 and Title 10 of the PA Code.  
(www.pacode.com).

Pennsylvania provides a one-time exemption allowing newly formed companies 
to sell securities to no more than five persons within six months of the date of 
incorporation or formation.

Pennsylvania provides one-time exemptions allowing Pennsylvania companies 
to sell securities to no more than 10 persons from the date of the formation of the 
business. To use this exemption, however, no one affiliated or associated with the 
issuer may have a history of securities law violations.


